Rivers Angels won a record ninth Federation Cup title following a 1-0 victory over Naija Ratels on Saturday, June 29, 2024, at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena.

The Jewels of Rivers were attack-minded from the first kick of the ball as Paulinus Ifeoma tried to put the Angels ahead with a right-footed shot from range but it went right above the goal post.

CHAMPIONS!!! Players and officials of Rivers Angels FC celebrate after winning the Federation Cup for the ninth time.

Not long after, a cross was whipped into the 18-yard- box from the right wing but did not meet the legs of any Angel as the game remained goalless.

In the 37th minute, Blessing Okpe had a shot on target but the ball lacked the power to trouble the opposition goalkeeper. Okpe then tried to launch yet another attack but was met with a good defensive effort from Ratels’ captain, Bunmi Oladeji who marked her well enough to evade the threat. Peace Effiong also had an attempt after a link-up play with Sandra John.

It was Naija Ratels’ turn to have a piece of the action as Zipora placed a deadly shot, forcing a save from the Angels’ goalkeeper, Agatha Thompsom, who was equal to the task. The game remained goalless.

Rivers Angels FC Coach, Whyte Ogbonda
Most Valuable Player, Blessing Okpe
Best Goalkeeper, Agatha Thompson

However, just at the stroke of the half, Rivers Angels’ player was sent to the penalty line for a chance to give her side the lead after Naija Ratels defender Adebayo Jumai handled the ball inside the box. Blessing Okpe, who had made a goal attempt previously, made no mistake as she slotted the ball into the top corner with the right amount of elevation, giving the keeper, Faith Omilani no chance to collect the ball.

The second half went by without a change to the scoreline despite several efforts from both sides to score, as Rivers Angels ultimately got the victory, ending their six-year drought, having last won the Federation Cup in 2018. Their previous victories were in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018.

Naija Ratels who came into the encounter as the underdogs put in tremendous effort but could not outdo the experienced Rivers Angels.

Rivers Angels Coach, Whythe Ogbonda, who previously guided Ibom Angels to runner-up finishes in 2017 and 2018, both times losing to Rivers Angels, finally secured his first National Cup title as head coach.

The highest Goal Scorer award was won by Naija Ratels’ Agama Ziperekefeghe with 10 goals. The best Goal Keeper went to Rivers Angels’ Agatha Thompson and the  Most Valuable Player went to fellow teammate, Okpe Blessing.

Rivers Angels have now won 15 major trophies since 2010/11 more than any other team. They won at least a trophy in 12 of their last 14 seasons, winning the Federation Cup nine times and the Nigeria Women’s Football League on six occasions.

Rivers Angels were rewarded with a cash price of 25 million naira while runners-up Naija Ratels received 10 million Naira.

Advert here

Subscribe to our newsletter